2017 Southwestern Archaeology, Inc.

Board of Directors Election Results

Southwestern Archaeology, Inc. issued a call for nominations to the Board of Directors on July 1, 2017. The positions of President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Information Specialist were open. 
By August 9, 2017, the current Board of Directors received the following nominations: for President – David Purcell; for Vice President – Tina Hart and Janet Hagopian; for Secretary – Sharon “Shurban” Urban and R.G. Wakeland; and, for Information Specialist – Charlotte Wolter. No nominations were submitted for the position of Treasurer.
All of the nominations except for Wakeland were posted to the Pecos Conference website on August 6, 2017. The candidate statements for all of the candidates were posted in the vendor tent and a notice of the election was made to the conference attendees as part of the opening remarks. 
The election was overseen by Tom Windes during the regular business meeting on Saturday, August 12. Copies of the candidate statements were circulated among the participating business meeting attendees prior to the vote, which was by an open show of hands for each candidate. Current Board member Kim Spurr tallied the results, which were entered into the meeting minutes by Sharon Urban. Based on the election results, the 2017 Board of Directors of Southwestern Archaeology, Inc. is:
David E. Purcell (Flagstaff, Arizona) – President
Janet Hagopian (Flagstaff, Arizona) – Vice President
Sharon Urban (Tucson, Arizona) – Secretary
Charlotte Wolter (Santa Monica, California) – Information Specialist
Kim Spurr (Flagstaff, Arizona) – 2018 Pecos Conference Organizer
Gary Newgent (Santa Fe, New Mexico) – ex-officio 2017 Pecos Conference Organizer
Ruth Van Dyke (Binghamton, New York) – Cordell/Powers Prize Committee Representative
The Board of Directors will meet to appoint a Treasurer for a one-year term and conduct other business before September 30. The 2016-2017 transitional Board of Directors – David Purcell, Kim Spurr, Tom Windes, Brian Kenny, Gary Newgent, and Stephanie Welch is now dissolved. 
We would like to thank Tom Windes and Brian Kenny for their many years of service to the Pecos Conference, including the past year of transitioning the Pecos Conference and Cordell/Powers Prize to nonprofit status. We would also like to thank Stephani Welch for her service on the Board. The 2017 Pecos Conference was well-attended (approximately 420), in a beautiful and accessible location, and a good time was had by all who did not get too cold and wet Friday evening. Many thanks to Gary Newgent and the volunteers of the Site Steward Foundation, Inc. for your hard work in making the Pecos Conference a success this year!

Pecos Conference